death · Love

By stones

You throw stones at me.
I stand unshaken
in the middle of the road.
Your stones
pass by me.
I don’t dodge them,
nor do I turn my head
to see where they fall,
because there is no one
behind me.

You throw stones at me.
And if I moved,
where could I go
but forward, towards you?
I look at you, dear one,
and I feel nothing but the stones
flying by me.
I am waiting for your hand to grow tired.
If I took you into my arms now,
what would you say?

It seems that everywhere I go,
I encounter you.
Cold stones are in all places,
although the sun shines high
on the wide and dusty road.
I kneel before you
this time too,
hoping, hoping you will see
that it is not so hard to die
for love.

Romanian version

One thought on “By stones

Leave a Reply

