Blue · Loss · Rain · Road

Goodbye

It’s been a while
since we saw each other for the last time.
I knew I’d remember your smile.
No, we didn’t say goodbye.
You were there
for a very short while, immobile.
No, I didn’t cry.
I just carried my burden, in silence,
until time has made it more wide.
Was I prepared to fly?
I never dared to look at the sky.
You and your armies occupied
every fortress that I tried to rise.
I have no memory,
all I ever had was ties.
You never thought about me
longing for you, sunshine.
Is there a truly proper time
to say goodbye?
In the morning, I promise,
tomorrow – late-wise.

Autumn in Creteil, France
Autumn in Creteil, France
6 thoughts on “Goodbye

Leave a Reply

